E-visa vs Regular visa

To apply for a regular visa, you are required to go to an Egyptian embassy in your home country and submit the required documents for a regular visa in-person, while an e-Visa is applied for online.

You do not have to submit a passport or any other documents in-person. You also need to wait for some weeks to get an Egyptian regular visa as opposed to a few days to get an Egyptian e-visa.

You can apply for a regular Egyptian visa by going to the Egyptian embassy in your home country. You have to submit all the necessary documents for the regular visa.

The advantage of a regular Egyptian visa is that it is valid for a longer period compared to an Egyptian e-visa. The disadvantage is that it takes a longer period to process. You need to schedule an appointment before you get to the Egyptian consulate to get this visa.

All nationalities don’t need to apply for an Egyptian electronic visa. Citizens of 41 countries are eligible for the Egyptian visa upon arrival. Among these countries are 28 European Union states, Canada, the United States, Ukraine, South Korea, etc.

Travelers should understand that being eligible for the Egypt visa on arrival does not mean that you cannot apply for a visa online. The electronic visa is much more flexible and practical because you do not need to make payments in a specific currency or line up the queue at the airport.

Some nationalities will also need a national security authorization in addition to having a visa.

How and where to apply for a regular Egyptian visa?

If you cannot apply for an Egyptian e-Visa, you can apply for a regular Egyptian visa from an Egyptian embassy in your home country.

The Egyptian government grants regular visa to citizens of most European countries. You have to fill and submit the regular visa application form to an Egyptian embassy in your home country, along with other documents.

What are the requirements to be eligible for the Egyptian e-visa?

The eligibility conditions are as follow when you opt for an Egypt e-visa:

  • It is granted to travelers who want to visit relatives and friends, transit, recreational activities, or short term business visit.
  • The passport must be valid for six months or more from the date of the visa application.
  • The passport must have at least two blank pages for stamping by the Egyptian Immigration Authorities.
  • Children and toddlers must have separate passports.
  • The following documents are needed when applying for an e-visa:
  • A passport with validity not at least six months.
  • Digital Passport photographs.

You may be required to produce the following documents on your arrival:

  • The printed copy of your Egypt e-visa.
  • A passport with a validity of not less than six months.
  • Invitation letter if any
  • Medical/health insurance cover for the duration of stay.

E-visa application process

Egypt e-Visa is an electronic visa that permits travelers to enter the country, without the need for a regular visa. It is compulsory to apply for an e-visa to go to Egypt if you do not have a regular visa. It is more practical and faster. Egypt’s e-visa can be applied for online.

Applying for an Egyptian e-visa is very easy and fast. To get an Egyptian e-visa, you do not have to visit an embassy/ministry for the visa interview. The only major requirement is a passport which should be valid for a minimum of 6 months from the date of application.

You can apply for an e-visa by visiting the official embassy website of Egypt. Once you submit the online application form and make a payment, you will receive an email address authentication message.

Once you verify your email address, the Egyptian e-visa will be sent to your verified email address.

Nationals of the 46 countries listed below can submit an e-Visa application for Egypt:

  • Albania
  • Germany
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cyprus
  • North Korea
  • South Korea
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • United
  • States
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Norway
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • United Kingdom
  • Russia
  • Czech
  • Republic
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine
  • Vatican